Setting a GitHub Marketplace listing's pricing plan

When listing your app on GitHub Marketplace, you can choose to provide your app as a free service or sell your app. If you plan to sell your app, you can create different pricing plans for different feature tiers.

Creating pricing plans

To learn about the types of pricing plans that GitHub Marketplace offers, see "GitHub Marketplace Pricing Plans." You'll also find helpful billing guidelines in "Selling your app."

Pricing plans can be in the draft or published state. If you haven't submitted your GitHub Marketplace listing for approval, a published listing will function the same way as draft listings until your app is approved and listed on GitHub Marketplace. Draft listings allow you to create and save new pricing plans without making them available on your GitHub Marketplace listing page. Once you publish the pricing plan, it's available for customers to purchase immediately. You can publish up to 10 pricing plans.

To create a pricing plan for your GitHub Marketplace listing, click Plans and pricing in the left sidebar of your GitHub Marketplace listing page. If you haven't created a GitHub Marketplace listing yet, read "Creating a draft GitHub Marketplace listing" to learn how.

When you click New draft plan, you'll see a form that allows you to customize your pricing plan. You'll need to configure the following fields to create a pricing plan:

Plan name

Your pricing plan's name will appear on your GitHub Marketplace app's landing page. You can customize the name of your pricing plan to align to the plan's resources, the size of the company that will use the plan, or anything you'd like.

Pricing models

Free plans

Free apps are encouraged in GitHub Marketplace and are a great way to offer open source services. If you list a paid version of your app outside of GitHub Marketplace, you must offer at least one paid plan when listing the app in GitHub Marketplace. A free plan still requires you to handle new purchase and cancellation billing flows. See "Billing flows" for more details.

Flat-rate plans

Flat-rate pricing plans allow you to offer your service to customers for a flat-rate fee. You can offer your app for free for 14 days as a free trial. Free trials automatically convert to a paid subscription after 14 days, unless the customer cancels before the free trial expires. Select "Enable 14 day free trial for this plan" to offer a free trial.

You must set a price for both monthly and yearly subscriptions in U.S. Dollars for flat-rate plans.

Per-unit plans

Per-unit pricing allows you to offer your app in units. For example, a unit can be a person, seat, or user. You'll need to provide a name for the unit and set a price for both monthly and yearly subscriptions, in U.S. Dollars.

Available for

GitHub Marketplace pricing plans can apply to Personal and organization accounts, Personal accounts only, or Organization accounts only. For example, if your pricing plan is per-unit and provides multiple seats, you would select Organization accounts only because there is no way to assign seats to people in an organization from a personal account.

Short description

Write a brief summary of the details of the pricing plan. The description might include the type of customer the plan is intended for or the resources the plan includes.

Bullets

You can write up to four bullets that include more details about your pricing plan. The bullets might include the use cases of your app or list more detailed information about the resources or features included in the plan.

Changing a GitHub Marketplace listing's pricing plan

If a pricing plan for your GitHub Marketplace plan is no longer needed or if you need to adjust pricing details, you can remove it.

Button to remove your pricing plan

Once you publish a pricing plan for an app already listed in the GitHub Marketplace, you can't make changes to the plan. Instead, you'll need to remove the pricing plan. Customers who already purchased the removed pricing plan will continue to use it until they opt out and move onto a new pricing plan. For more on pricing plans, see "GitHub Marketplace pricing plans."

Once you remove a pricing plan, users won't be able to purchase your app using that plan. Existing users on the removed pricing plan will continue to stay on the plan until they cancel their plan subscription.

Note: GitHub can't remove users from a removed pricing plan. You can run a campaign to encourage users to upgrade or downgrade from the removed pricing plan onto a new pricing plan.

You can disable GitHub Marketplace free trials without retiring the pricing plan, but this prevents you from initiating future free trials for that plan. If you choose to disable free trials for a pricing plan, users already signed up can complete their free trial.

After retiring a pricing plan, you can create a new pricing plan with the same name as the removed pricing plan. For instance, if you have a "Pro" pricing plan but need to change the flat rate price, you can remove the "Pro" pricing plan and create a new "Pro" pricing plan with an updated price. Users will be able to purchase the new pricing plan immediately.