Changing a GitHub Marketplace listing's pricing plan

If a pricing plan for your GitHub Marketplace plan is no longer needed or if you need to change pricing details, you can retire it.

Once you retire a pricing plan, users won't be able to purchase your app using that plan. Existing users on the retired pricing plan will continue to stay on the plan until they cancel their plan subscription.

Note: GitHub can't remove users from a retired pricing plan. You can run a campaign to encourage users to upgrade or downgrade from the retired pricing plan onto a new pricing plan.

You can disable Marketplace free trials without retiring the pricing plan, but this prevents you from initiating future free trials for that plan. If you choose to disable free trials for a pricing plan, users already signed up can complete their free trial.

After retiring a pricing plan, you can create a new pricing plan with the same name as the retired pricing plan. For instance, if you have a "Pro" pricing plan but need to change the flat rate, you can retire the "Pro" pricing plan and create a new "Pro" pricing plan with an updated price. Users will be able to immediately purchase the new pricing plan.

To retire a pricing plan:

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings. Settings icon in the user bar

  2. In the left sidebar, click Developer settings. Developer settings section

  3. In the left sidebar, click either OAuth Apps or GitHub Apps depending on the GitHub Marketplace listing whose pricing plan you're retiring. App type selection

    Note: You can also change a listing's pricing plan by navigating to https://github.com/marketplace/manage.

  4. Select the app listing whose pricing plan you'd like to change. App selection for GitHub Marketplace listing

  5. Click Edit Marketplace listing. Button to edit your GitHub Marketplace listing
  6. Click the Plans & pricing tab to retire an existing pricing plan for your app. Plans and Pricing tab
  7. In "Plan editor", select the pricing plan you'd like to retire. Pricing plan selection
  8. Click Retire this plan and then click OK. Button to retire your pricing plan


    Note: For more information on setting up a new pricing plan after you've retired one, see "Setting a GitHub Marketplace listing's pricing plan."