Cancelling plans

Cancelling a GitHub Marketplace app triggers the Marketplace purchase event webhook with the cancelled action. This flow explains the actions that you should take when this event occurs.

For more information about cancelling as it relates to billing, see "Billing customers in GitHub Marketplace."

Customer cancels a plan

  1. The customer returns to the Marketplace listing they would like to cancel.

Changing account status

  1. GitHub triggers marketplace_purchase webhook with the action cancelled when the cancellation takes effect. Cancellations will occur at the end of the customer's billing cycle.
  2. Revoke OAuth token you received for the customer.
  3. You deactivate the customer account based on results of previous step.
  4. Remove all customer data within 30 days of receiving the cancelled event.

Note: We recommend using the marketplace_purchase webhook's effective_date to determine when a plan change will occur and periodically synchronizing the list of GitHub accounts on a specific plan. For more information on webhooks, see "About webhooks payloads for a GitHub Marketplace listing."