Changing a GitHub Marketplace listing's pricing plan

If a pricing plan for your GitHub Marketplace plan is no longer needed or if you need to change pricing details, you can retire it.

Once you retire a pricing plan, users won't be able to purchase your app using that plan. Existing users on the retired pricing plan will continue to stay on the plan until they cancel their plan subscription.

Note: GitHub can't remove users from a retired pricing plan. You can run a campaign to encourage users to upgrade or downgrade from the retired pricing plan onto a new pricing plan.

After a pricing plan is retired, you can create a new pricing plan with the same name as the retired pricing plan. For instance, if you have a "Pro" pricing plan but need to change the flat rate, you can retire the "Pro" pricing plan and create a new "Pro" pricing plan with an updated price. Users will be able to immediately purchase the new pricing plan.

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings. Settings icon in the user bar
  2. Depending on the GitHub Marketplace listing whose pricing plan you're retiring, click either OAuth Apps or GitHub Apps.

    Tip: You can also change a listing's pricing plan by navigating to https://github.com/marketplace/manage.

    App type selection

  3. Select the app listing whose pricing plan you'd like to change. App selection for GitHub Marketplace listing

  4. Click Edit Marketplace listing. Button to edit your GitHub Marketplace listing
  5. Click the Plans & pricing tab to retire an existing pricing plan for your app. Plans and Pricing tab
  6. In "Plan editor", select the pricing plan you'd like to retire. Pricing plan selection
  7. Click Remove this plan and then click OK.

    Note: For more information on setting up a new pricing plan after you've retired one, see "Setting a GitHub Marketplace listing's pricing plan.""

    Button to remove your pricing plan